Life Prediction

The aging mechanism of lithium-ion power batteries is very complex, and there are many coupling factors leading to the performance degradation, which finally make remaining useful life (RUL) prediction a very challenging problem. During the use and maintenance process, the performance of power batteries continues to decline. With the increase of charge and discharge cycles, there is some irreversible chemical reaction occurring inside the power batteries, which results in the charge and discharge capacity attenuation, such as the increase of internal resistance, the decline of capacity and energy and so on. This greatly reduces the driving range of electric vehicles and even brings some safety hazards. Reliable RUL prediction can adequately soothes both anxiety about the unknown driving range and concern about security issues. Ensuring the safe and efficient operation of the power battery pack can also ensure the safety and reliability of the electric vehicle in use to a large extent, reduce failure rate and operating cost, improve user experience, and avoid accidents. As a result, RUL prediction of power batteries is also one of the core contents of power battery management.

RUL of power batteries refers to the number of cycles experienced by which the maximum usable capacity of power batteries degrades to a certain failure threshold under a certain charge and discharge system. RUL prediction is a process of predicting and calculating the remaining useful life of power batteries based on its historical data by certain mathematical means. With the wide application of power batteries in various fields, the RUL prediction technology has been widely concerned and studied. According to the different prediction ideas, the data-driven RUL prediction methods can be further divided into three types: empirical methods, filter-based methods and time series analysis methods.

1. Empirical Methods

The empirical prediction method assumes that the capacity decline of power battery follows some inherent mathematical relationship, and its parameters are determined by historical data, so a mathematical model describing the aging of power batteries can be established to predict RUL. In order to obtain a reasonable mathematical model, it is usually necessary to use different function forms to repeatedly fit the capacity decay trajectory of power batteries, and the function with the best fitting effect is used to construct the empirical model. The functional forms commonly used as empirical models of power battery life are as follows: the exponential model of Equation (1), the double exponential model of Equation (2), the linear model of Equation (3), the polynomial model of Equation (4), the Verhulst model of Equation (5), etc.

(1)
(2)
(3)
(4)
(5)

In Equations (1) to (5), n is the number of equivalent cycles, Cmax is the maximum available capacity in the n-th cycle, e is the natural constant, and other parameters are the undetermined coefficients of the model.

he empirical prediction method based on the idea of function fitting has the advantages of simple process and less computation, which is suitable for the scenarios with limited computational resources and low requirement for accuracy. When the RUL prediction program is started, BMS extracts the historical capacity data of the power battery in the memory, and then fits the historical data according to the preset empirical life prediction model to obtain its parameters. Since the aging law of the power battery is completely determined, the prescribed capacity failure threshold (usually 80% of the initial capacity) is substituted into the empirical life prediction model to complete the solution of the power battery RUL.

The empirical fitting method is simple and easy to implement, but it is very sensitive to the fluctuation of sample data, and the prediction results are easy to be scattered. In order to enhance the stability of the algorithm, a filter can be used to eliminate the noise of the sample data, thus forming the filter-based life prediction method.

2. Filter-based life prediction methods

The filter-based life prediction method is the most commonly used method for RUL prediction of power batteries at present. Based on the idea of state estimation, this method takes the undetermined coefficient of the empirical model as model states, and then updates and corrects the state parameters in real time through the observation data. It effectively solves the problem of prediction instability caused by data fitting in the empirical forecasting method.

The filter-based life prediction method uses state space equations to express the aging law of power battery. Taking the double exponential model as an example, four undetermined parameters are selected as the model states, and the state equation is constructed as Equation (6).

(6)

where, xn is the state vector; wb1~wb4 is the noise with an average value of 0; σb1~σb4 is the variance of parameter noise. The corresponding observation equation is

(7)

where, vn is the observation noise with an average value of 0, and its variance is σv. After establishing the state space equation, BMS updates and corrects the state variables based on the historical capacity data by using the filtering algorithm to accurately estimate the aging state of power batteries. The following is an example of the extended Kalman filter algorithm to introduce the application of filter-based prediction methods.

The standard Kalman filter algorithm can only solve the state estimation problem of linear systems. Suppose the state space of a linear system is expressed as follows

(8)

where x is the state variable; A is the state transition matrix; B is the coefficient matrix; H is the observation matrix; k is the equivalent number of cycles, k=0,1,2..., N; N is the length of historical capacity data; wk and vk are system noise and observation noise respectively, representing the degree of internal and external disturbance received by the system. We assume that the noise is Gaussian white noise following normal distribution, and the system noise and the observation noise are independent of each other. The covariance matrices of the two are respectively expressed by Q and R, which can characterize the intensity of the noise.

Since Equation (7) is a nonlinear equation, the standard Kalman filter algorithm cannot be directly used to predict the RUL of power batteries. For this reason, the nonlinear system is linearized by Taylor series, and the extended Kalman filter (EKF) algorithm is formed.

The linearized state space equation of Equation (7) is as follows


(9)

where is the state variable; A is the identity matrix of order 4;.

Fig. 1 shows the state estimation process of the extended Kalman filter algorithm. Firstly, the filter is initialized, that is, the initial parameters and initial state of the filter are set according to the trend of historical data and noise size. The filter then predicts the current states based on the state equation and estimates the covariance of the states. After that, the actual capacity data observed at the current moment is compared with the capacity calculated by the observation equation, and the error is used to correct the states. Repeat the above process to update the filter state recursively. After all the observed data are fed into the filter, the RUL can be obtained by substituting the state estimation results and capacity failure threshold into Equation (7).

Fig. 1 State estimation process of the Kalman filter algorithm

The RUL prediction result based on the EKF algorithm is shown in Fig. 2. The battery with a whole life of 200 cycles has been used for 100 cycles at present. The historical capacity (i.e. the capacity of the first 100 cycles) is fed into the EKF algorithm one by one to gradually correct the states. At 100 cycles, a double exponential aging model is extrapolated to predict the future capacity trajectory and RUL. The prediction result of RUL based on the EKF algorithm is 127 cycles while the true value is 100 cycles, so the prediction error is 27 cycles with a relative error of 27%.

Fig. 2 prediction results of RUL based on the extended Kalman filter algorithm

3. Time series analysis methods

Different from the above two methods, this method does not rely on a priori empirical model, but takes the capacity decay trajectory of power battery as a time series, analyzes the evolution law of the time series data, predicts the future capacity trajectory, and then obtains RUL of power batteries. The mathematical expression of the time series model is as follows

(10)

Where, function f (·) is the time series model.

Time series model uses the development law of time series to predict the performance of power batteries in the future. Capacity decline of power batteries in use is essentially a long-term time series so that it can be applied in the RUL prediction problems.

It can be seen from Equation (10) that, based on the time series model, the historical capacity observation series between cycles of [n-m, n] can be used to predict the power battery capacity of cycle n+1. The predicted capacity of any cycle can be obtained by recursion of Equation (10). At present, the commonly used time series models for RUL prediction include gray model, autoregressive moving average model, neural network, support vector machine and relevance vector machine and so on. Long short-term memory recurrent neural network (LSTM RNN) is introduced as an example of time series analysis methods.

LSTM RNN is a recurrent neural network with deep learning ability. Its unique logic gate structure enables it to remember long-period features, and has achieved good application effects in machine translation, image recognition and other fields.

Fig. 3 Network structure of LSTM RNN model

The network structure of the LSTM RNN model is shown in Fig. 3. The subscript c of vectors represents the neuron, and the superscript (t) represents the moment t. x(t)represents the input layer at the moment t, and h(t-1) represents the hidden layer at the previous moment t-1. Moment is a commonly used expression of time in the construction of LSTM RNN. For the RUL prediction field of power batteries, it here indicates number of cycles.

The key to LSTM RNN is the internal state sc, which is a linear activation function located at the center of each neuron. The internal state sc has a self-loop with unit weights. The internal state can be used as a carrier for information to be added or removed, and the flow of information can be precisely regulated through a gate structure. The gate is an essential property of the LSTM RNN method and can selectively determine the flow of information. Each gate is a sigmoid function activated by the input layer x(t) and the hidden layer h(t-1) at the previous moment.

Forget Gates: Firstly, the LSTM RNN needs to decide which information needs to be discarded. This decision is made by the sigmoid function layer fc, known as the forget gate. The input of this layer is x(t) and h(t-1) and the output value is between 0 and 1 to determine what happens when each state value is stored in the internal state. 1 indicates that the state value is completely retained, whereas 0 indicates that the state value is completely discarded. For the RUL prediction of power batteries, the discarded information can be capacity data outliers, noise or redundant information from adjacent cycle. The calculation process of forgetting gate is as follows.

(11)

Input Gates and Input Nodes: The next step in determining what information will be stored in the internal states consists of two parts. Firstly, a sigmoid function layer ic known as the input gate decide which value needs to be updated, and then by a tanh function layer gc called the input node produce target state vector , which can be combined with the status value directly. The calculation formula that produces these two outputs is as follows.

(12)
(13)

Update the internal state value at the previous time to the current state value :

(14)

Output Gates: Finally, the sigmoid function oc called the output gate determines what information will be output. After going through the tanh function that scaling the value to between -1 and 1, the internal state sc is multiplied by the output of the sigmoid gate to obtain the remaining state value. The expressions are shown in Equations (15) and (16).

(15)
(16)

Where the values of W and b are the weight coefficients and deviations of functions of each layer respectively.

Based on the three unique logic gate structures mentioned above, LSTM RNN can effectively learn long-term capacity decline of power batteries and capture the implicit information of historical capacity sequence, so as to achieve accurate prediction of future capacity sequence.

LSTM RNN is used to predict the RUL of a power battery, and results are shown in Fig. 4. LSTM RNN uses the capacity before cycle 253 for training, and predicts the future capacity trajectory in an iterative way until the failure threshold of the power battery was reached. the prediction error of LSTM RNN is only 3 cycles and the relative error is 0.6%. LSTM RNN realizes the accurate prediction of RUL of power batteries.

Fig. 4 RUL prediction results based on LSTM RNN

3. References

[1] R. Xiong. Core Algorithms of Battery Management System. Beijing:China Machine Press,2018. (Chinese) (Chapter Six)

[2] R. Xiong, Y. Zhang*, J. Wang, H. He, S. Peng, Michael Pecht, “Lithium-ion battery health prognosis based on a real battery management system used in electric vehicles”, IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology, vol. 68, no.5, pp. 4110-4121, May 2019. (Download)

[3] Yongzhi Zhang, Rui Xiong, Hongwen He, Xiaobo Qu, Michael Pecht, “Aging characteristics-based health diagnosis and remaining useful life prognostics for lithium-ion batteries”, eTransportation, vol. 1,pp. 100004, Aug 2019. (Download)

[4] Y. Zhang, R. Xiong*, H. He, and M. Pecht, “Lithium-ion battery remaining useful life prediction with Box–Cox transformation and Monte Carlo simulation”, IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics, vol. 66, no.2, pp. 1585-1597, Feb 2019. (Download)

[5] Y. Zhang, R. Xiong*, H. He, and M. Pecht, “Long short-term memory recurrent neural network for remaining useful life prediction of lithium-ion batteries”, IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology, vol. 67, no. 7, pp. 5695 – 5705, Jul 2018. (Download)

4. Available Resources

(1) Remaining life prediction data: click to download (PDF watermark textbook)

(2) Model instance:

Power battery remaining life prediction algorithm based on Box-Cox transformation (empirical prediction method)

Model instance:Resource Application Form.pdf

Power battery remaining life prediction algorithm based on LSTM-RNN (time series prediction method)

Model instance:Resource Application Form.pdf

(3) Lecture notes:Resource Application Form.pdf















0
Adress:No.5 South Zhongguancun St., Haidian District, Beijing,100081,China.   Copyright  ©  2020-   AESA  All Rights Reserved.
Links: Beijing Institute of Technology    Applied Energy    MIT-Ju Li Group    Chinese J. ME    Sch. Mech Engin

寿命预测

1. 剩余寿命预测

锂离子动力电池老化的内部机理十分复杂,导致其性能衰退的原因众多,而且相互耦合,最终形成了极具挑战性的寿命预测难题。动力电池的性能衰退问题贯穿于使用和维护的全过程,随着动力电池充放电循环次数的增加,其内部往往会发生一些不可逆转的化学反应,导致内阻增大,容量、能量以及充放电能力衰减,从而大大地削减了电动汽车的续驶里程,甚至带来了一些安全隐患。可靠的剩余寿命RUL预测可以充分解决用户对剩余续驶里程不明的焦虑以及对安全问题的担忧,保障动力电池组安全高效运行,还能在很大程度上确保电动汽车在运行过程中的安全性和可靠性,降低故障率和运行成本,提升用户体验,避免事故发生。因此,动力电池RUL预测也是动力电池管理的核心内容之一。

动力电池的剩余寿命(RUL)是指在一定的充放电制度下,动力电池的最大可用容量衰减退化到某一规定的失效阈值所需要经历的循环周期数量。RUL预测是一个基于动力电池历史数据运用一定的数学手段对其残值寿命进行预测计算的过程。随着动力电池在各领域上的广泛应用,动力电池RUL预测技术得到了广泛的关注和研究。根据预测思路的不同,基于数据驱动的动力电池RUL预测方法又可细分为三大类型:经验预测法、滤波预测法和时序预测法。

经验预测法

经验预测法认为动力电池的容量衰减遵循某种固有的数学关系,使用历史数据确定待定参数,便可建立描述动力电池老化规律的数学模型,解决动力电池的RUL预测问题。为了获取合理的数学模型,通常需要试探性地采用不同的函数形式对动力电池的容量衰减轨迹进行反复拟合,选择拟合效果最佳的函数作为寿命经验模型。常用作动力电池寿命经验模型的函数形式有:单指数模型(式1)、双指数模型(式2)、线性模型(式3)、多项式模型(式4)、Verhulst模型(式5)等。

(1)

(2)
(3)
(4)
(5)

式1~式5中,n为等效循环次数,为第n循环时的最大可用容量,e为自然常数,其他参数均为模型的待定系数。

基于函数拟合思想的经验预测法过程简单,计算量少,适用于计算资源受限且对精度要求不高的场景。当RUL预测程序启动时,BMS提取存储器中的动力电池历史容量数据,并根据设定的寿命经验模型对历史数据进行拟合逼近,获得寿命经验模型的参数。在求得待定参数后,动力电池的老化规律已完全确定,将规定的容量失效阈值(通常取初始容量的80%)代入寿命经验模型,即可完成动力电池RUL的求解,还可以对未来的寿命轨迹进行预测。

经验拟合法简单易实现,但对样本数据的波动十分敏感,预测结果易发散。为了增强算法稳定性,可以使用滤波器过滤样本数据噪声,因而形成滤波预测法。

滤波预测法

该方法是目前最为常用的一种动力电池RUL预测方法。从状态估计的思想出发,滤波预测法将寿命经验模型的待定系数作为模型状态,通过观测数据实时对状态参数进行更新校正,有效解决了经验预测法中单纯的数据拟合所引起的预测不稳定问题。

滤波预测法使用状态空间方程表达动力电池的老化规律。以双指数模型为例,将四个待定参数选作模型状态,构建的状态方程为

(6)

式中,为状态向量;为均值为0的噪声;为参数噪声的方差。相应的观测方程为

(7)

式中,为均值为0的观测噪声,其方差为。在完成状态空间方程的建立后,BMS基于历史容量数据利用滤波算法对状态变量进行更新校正,从而实现对动力电池老化状态的准确估计。下面以扩展卡尔曼滤波算法为例介绍滤波预测法的应用。

标准的卡尔曼滤波算法仅能够解决线性系统的状态估计问题。假设线性系统的状态空间表达式如下

(8)

式中,x为状态变量;A为状态转移矩阵;B为系数矩阵;H为观测矩阵;k为等效循环次数,k=0,1,2,…,N; N为历史容量数据长度;wk和vk分别为系统噪声和观测噪声,表征系统收到内外界扰动的程度。假定噪声为服从正态分布的高斯白噪声,系统噪声和观测噪声相互独立,二者的协方差矩阵分别用Q、R表示,能够表征噪声的强度。

由于观测方程式7是非线性方程,因而标准的卡尔曼滤波算法并不能直接用于动力电池的RUL预测。为此,应用泰勒级数将非线性系统线性化,即形成扩展卡尔曼滤波(EKF)算法。

对式7进行线性化处理,线性化后的状态空间方程如下

(9)

式中,为状态变量;A为4阶单位矩阵;

图1为扩展卡尔曼滤波算法的状态估计过程。首先,在获取历史容量数据后,根据历史数据的趋势及噪声大小,设定滤波器初始参数和初始状态,进行滤波器初始化。然后,滤波器首先根据状态方程预测当前状态并估计状态的协方差。之后,将当前时刻观测到的实际容量数据与通过模型计算出的容量进行比较,并利用估计误差修正模型状态。重复上述过程,即可递推更新滤波器状态。当全部观测数据都输入滤波器后,将状态估计结果和容量截止阈值代入观测方程式7,即可求得RUL。

图1 卡尔曼滤波算法的状态估计过程

时序预测法

与上述两类方法不同,该方法不依赖先验的寿命经验模型,而是从时序数据预测角度出发,将动力电池的容量衰减轨迹看作时间序列,迭代预测未来的容量轨迹,进而获得RUL。时间序列模型的数学表达式为

(10)

式中,函数f (·)为时间序列模型。

时间序列模型运用时间序列的发展规律推测未来的发展趋势。对动力电池而言,老化引起的容量衰减本质上是一个长期的时间序列,可以用时间序列模型处理RUL预测问题。

从式8可见,基于时间序列模型,可以利用第n-m次到第n次循环间的历史容量观测序列预测第n+1次循环后的动力电池容量,递推式8,即可获得任意次循环后的动力电池容量值。目前,常用作RUL预测的时间序列模型有灰度预测模型、自回归移动平均模型、神经网络、支持向量机以及相关向量机等。下面以长短时记忆循环神经网络(LSTM RNN)为例,介绍时序预测方法。

LSTM RNN是具有深度学习能力的循环神经网络,特有的逻辑门结构使其能够记忆长周期特征,在机器翻译、图像识别等领域均取得良好的应用效果。

图2 LSTM RNN预测模型网络结构

LSTM RNN预测模型的网络结构原理如图2所示。注意,每一个向量下标c代表神经元,上标 (t) 代表t时刻。x(t) 代表t时刻的输入层,h(t-1) 代表前一时刻即t-1时刻的隐含层。“时刻”是构建LSTM RNN网络的时间常用表达方式,对于动力电池RUL预测领域而言,此处的“时刻”指示“循环次数”。

LSTM RNN的关键在于内部状态sc,该状态是位于每个神经元中心的线性激活函数。内部状态sc有一个带有单位权重的自循环。内部状态可以被当成信息增加或者移除的载体,这种信息的流动可以通过“门”结构进行精准调节。“门”是LSTM方法的本质属性,能够有选择的决定信息的流向。每个“门”都是一个被输入层x(t)以及上一时刻隐含层h(t-1)激活的sigmoid函数。

遗忘门:首先,LSTM RNN需要决定哪些信息需要被遗弃。这一决定由被称作“遗忘门”的sigmoid函数层fc做出。该层函数的输入是x(t)和h(t-1),输出值介于0和1之间来决定每一个状态值存储于内部状态时的情况。1代表状态值完全保留,相反,0则代表状态值被完全丢弃。例如,对于动力电池RUL预测来说,丢弃的信息可以是容量数据异常值,噪声或者相邻循环数据的冗余信息。遗忘门的计算过程如下。

(11)

输入门和输入节点:下一步决定哪些信息将被存储于内部状态中,这一步包含两个部分。首先一个被称作“输入门”的sigmoid函数层决定哪些值需要更新,紧接着,一个被称作“输入节点”的tanh函数层产生目标状态向量,该向量可以直接与状态值相加。产生这两个输出的计算公式如下。

(12)

(13)

更新上一时刻的内部状态值至当前状态值

(14)

输出门:最终,被称作“输出门”的sigmoid函数决定哪些信息将被输出。内部状态通过tanh函数后(将值缩放至-1到1之间),与sigmoid门的输出相乘获得剩余状态值,具体表达式如下所示:

(15)

(16)

其中,W和b的值分别是各层函数的权系数和偏差。

基于上述三类独特的逻辑门结构,LSTM RNN能够有效学习长时间的动力电池容量衰减数据,捕捉历史容量序列的隐含信息,从而实现未来容量序列的准确预测。

2. 主要结果

基于EKF算法,预测动力电池剩余寿命,结果如图3所示。该电池实际寿命200次循环,当前已使用100次循环。将历史数据(即前100次循环容量)逐一输入EKF算法,逐步修正状态参数,在100循环时,使用双指数老化模型外推,预测未来容量轨迹和剩余寿命。EKF算法的剩余寿命预测结果为127循环,而实际剩余寿命100次循环,预测误差27次循环,相对误差27%。

图3 基于扩展卡尔曼滤波算法的剩余寿命预测结果

使用LSTM RNN对动力电池单体进行寿命预测,结果如图4所示。LSTM RNN使用253次循环前的容量数据进行模型训练,采用迭代的方式预测未来容量轨迹,直至到达动力电池的失效阈值。预测结果表明,LSTM的预测误差仅有3循环,相对误差0.6%,实现了对动力电池单体剩余寿命的精确预测。

图4 基于LSTM RNN的剩余寿命预测结果

3. 参考文献

[1] 熊瑞. 动力电池管理系统核心算法[M]. 北京:机械工业出版社,2018. (第六章)

[2] R. Xiong, Y. Zhang*, J. Wang, H. He, S. Peng, Michael Pecht, “Lithium-ion battery health prognosis based on a real battery management system used in electric vehicles”, IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology, vol. 68, no.5, pp. 4110-4121, May 2019. (下载链接)

[3] Yongzhi Zhang, Rui Xiong, Hongwen He, Xiaobo Qu, Michael Pecht, “Aging characteristics-based health diagnosis and remaining useful life prognostics for lithium-ion batteries”, eTransportation, vol. 1,pp. 100004, Aug 2019. (下载链接)

[4] Y. Zhang, R. Xiong*, H. He, and M. Pecht, “Lithium-ion battery remaining useful life prediction with Box–Cox transformation and Monte Carlo simulation”, IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics, vol. 66, no.2, pp. 1585-1597, Feb 2019. (下载链接)

[5] Y. Zhang, R. Xiong*, H. He, and M. Pecht, “Long short-term memory recurrent neural network for remaining useful life prediction of lithium-ion batteries”, IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology, vol. 67, no. 7, pp. 5695 – 5705, Jul 2018. (下载链接)

4. 可用资源

(1) 剩余寿命预测资料: 点击下载(PDF水印教材)

(2) 模型实例:

基于Box-Cox变换的动力电池剩余寿命预测算法(经验预测法)

模型实例:资源申请表.pdf

基于LSTM-RNN的动力电池剩余寿命预测算法(时序预测法)

模型实例资源申请表.pdf

(3) 授课讲稿:资源申请表.pdf


0
联系地址:北京市海淀区中关村南大街5号北京理工大学   Copyright  ©  2020-   先进储能科学与应用课题组  All Rights Reserved.网站地图
友情链接: 北京理工大学    ICEIV2022会议    机械与车辆学院    机械工程学报    Applied Energy期刊