Heating

1. Introduction to low temperature heating

With the increasing popularity of new energy vehicles, problems such as short mileage, difficulty in starting, and difficulty in charging when using new energy vehicles in cold regions have become increasingly severe. The working characteristics of lithium-ion power batteries are more sensitive to the working environment, working conditions and aging conditions, especially the driving mileage will be significantly reduced in low temperature environments. In addition, the charging rate of the power battery in a low temperature environment is small and it is difficult to achieve full charge, which is likely to cause the negative electrode to deposit lithium and cause permanent damage to the power battery. Therefore, the low-temperature heating method of the power battery is a key technology to ensure the application of new energy vehicles in all climates and working conditions.

2. Common low temperature heating methods and classification

As shown in Figure 1, the methods for low-temperature heating of power batteries at home and abroad are mainly divided into two categories according to the location of the heat source: internal heating and external heating. Among them, the external heating methods mainly include air convection heating, liquid convection heating, phase change material heating, electric heating element heating and Peltier effect elements, etc.; internal heating methods are mainly divided into alternating current heating, pulse current heating, All-climate battery and electric trigger self-heating methods. In the next section, we will introduce a design of a non-destructive and fast alternating current heating strategy for power batteries at low temperature.

Figure 1 Classification of low-temperature heating methods

3. Principle of alternating current heating

The alternating current heating method is a battery heating method that directly heats the inside of the battery through alternating current excitation. As shown in Figure 2, in the low temperature condition, the alternating current power supply outputs alternating current, so that the current continuously flows through the internal impedance of the battery to generate heat, thereby realizing the heating of the battery.

Figure 2 Schematic diagram of the alternating current heating method

When the power battery is loaded with alternating current excitation, the diffusion process of lithium-ions in the electrode active material particles alternates, that is, after the power battery undergoes the lithium insertion reaction, the lithium removal reaction occurs immediately, and the lithium generated by the lithium insertion reaction is consumed by the lithium removal reaction. Because the lithium produced and consumed in each cycle is balanced, it can reduce the possibility of permanent damage to the capacity, that is, the excitation method will not significantly affect the service life of the power battery.

During the low-temperature alternating current heating process, the temperature rise rate of the power battery increases as the excitation current amplitude increases. However, if the excitation current is too large, the terminal voltage of the power battery will exceed its maximum allowable threshold, which will affect the service life of the power battery. Under the premise of limiting the excitation current amplitude, as the alternating current excitation frequency increases, the electrochemical reaction period becomes shorter and the temperature rise rate will increase. The power battery will not accumulate lithium during the entire alternating current excitation process. Therefore, when alternating current excitation is applied to heat the power battery, the value of the excitation current amplitude and the excitation frequency should not only focus on their influence on the temperature rise rate, but also need to take into account the safety performance and health of the power battery. Based on this, a fixed frequency echelon heating method is proposed.

The method is to minimize the energy loss of the energy supply system and shorten the heating time under the premise of ensuring the service life and operational safety of the power battery. This method obtains data such as the current temperature, terminal voltage and ambient temperature of the power battery according to the sensor, and calculates and updates the amplitude of the alternating current in time and applies it to the power battery so that the excitation current is within the allowable carrying current range of the power battery to ensure The terminal voltage of the power battery does not exceed the limit, which improves the low-temperature working performance of the power battery and guarantees the reliable operation of the power battery.

4. Main formula

Under alternating current excitation, the formula for calculating the heat production rate q is

In this formula, i is the excitation current amplitude, and RQ is the real part impedance (related to temperature and can be obtained offline by EIS). According to the B-V equation, the mathematical expression of polarization current iD and the expression of polarization voltage UD

After discretization, the upper and lower amplitudes of the allowable excitation current are obtained.

Optimal excitation current amplitude is iopt,t+Δt

It should be noted that Ri, CD and i0 are obtained by parameter identification methods. According to the different ambient temperature of the battery, the amplitude of the excitation current can be updated in time according to the above formula. Figure 3 is the excitation current amplitude curve in the heating experiment by calculating and updating the excitation current amplitude every 2℃.

Figure 3 Excitation current amplitude of power battery

The heating process is shown in Figure 4.

Figure 4 Flow chart of echelon heating

5. Result analysis

Using the above-mentioned heating experiment method, echelon heating is performed on the four power battery packs. The results in Figure 5 show that the echelon heating method heats the four power battery packs from -20.3℃ to 10.02℃ in 12.4 minutes, and the temperature rise rate is 2.47℃/min, which can achieve ideal high-efficiency temperature-rise effect, and the temperature rise consistency of the four power battery pack is better.

Figure 5 Temperature rise curve of 4 power battery pack

Figure 6 shows the change in charge and discharge capacity of the power battery after 40 echelon heating cycles. The results show that this echelon heating method has no significant impact on the life of the power battery, and it can be considered as a preheating method for power battery applications in low-temperature environments.

Figure 6 Power battery charge and discharge capacity after cyclic heating

6. References

[1] R. Xiong. Core Algorithms of Battery Management System. Beijing:China Machine Press,2018. (Chinese) (Chapter Eight)

[2] R. Xiong*, K. Wang and S. Guo, “Hybrid Preheating Method for Lithium-ion Battery Used in Cold Environment”, Journal of Mechanical Engineering, vol. 55, no. 14, pp. 53-59, Jul 2019. (Download)

[3] R. Xiong, W. Sun, Q. Yu* and F. Sun, “Research progress, challenges and prospects of fault diagnosis on battery system of electric vehicles”, Applied Energy, vol. 279, pp.115855, Dec 2020. (Download)

[4] R. Xiong*, Y. Pan, W.X. Shen, H. Li and F. C. Sun, “Lithium-ion battery aging mechanisms and diagnosis method for automotive applications: Recent advances and perspectives”, Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews, vol. 131, pp. 110048, Oct 2020. (Download)

[5] R. Xiong*, S. Ma, H. Li, F. Sun and J.Li, “Towards a Safer Battery Management System: A Critical Review on Diagnosis and Prognosis of Battery Short Circuit”, iScience, vol. 23, no. 4, pp. 101010, Apr 2020. (Download)

7. Available Resources

(1) Very fast heating data at low temperature: click to download(Low temperature heating)

(2) Example of AC heating model:Resource Application Form.pdf

(3) Lecture notes: Resource Application Form.pdf



0
Adress:No.5 South Zhongguancun St., Haidian District, Beijing,100081,China.   Copyright  ©  2020-   AESA  All Rights Reserved.
Links: Beijing Institute of Technology    Applied Energy    MIT-Ju Li Group    Chinese J. ME    Sch. Mech Engin

低温加热

1. 低温加热介绍

随着新能源汽车的日益普及,冬季高寒地区使用新能源汽车所面临的续驶里程短、启动困难、充电难等问题变得日益严峻。锂离子动力电池工作特性对工作环境、工况和老化状态均较为敏感,特别是续驶里程在低温环境会明显下降,若使用热空调,续驶里程会明显不足。此外,动力电池在低温环境充电倍率小且难以实现满充,易造成负极析锂,对动力电池造成永久性损伤。因此,动力电池的低温加热与优化充电方法是保障新能源汽车全气候、全工况应用的关键技术。

2. 常用低温加热方法及分类

如图1所示,国内外对动力电池低温加热的方法按热源位置主要分为两类:内部加热和外部加热。其中,外部加热方法主要有空气对流式加热、液体对流式加热、相变材料式加热、电热元件类加热和珀尔帖效应元件等方法;内部加热方法则主要分为交流电加热、脉冲电流加热、全气候电池和电触发自加热等方法。在下一节将会介绍一种对低温下动力电池进行无损且快速的交流电加热策略的设计。

图1 低温加热方式分类

3. 低温加热原理

交流电加热法是一种通过交流激励直接对电池内部进行加热的电池加热方法。如图2所示,在低温情况下,交流电源输出交流电,使得电流不断流经电池内部的阻抗,产生热量,从而实现对电池内部的加热。

图2 电池内部交流电加热法原理图

动力电池加载交流激励时,锂离子在电极活性材料颗粒中的扩散过程交替进行,即动力电池发生嵌锂反应后,随即发生脱锂反应,嵌锂反应所生成的锂被随后发生的脱锂反应所消耗。因为每个周期生成和消耗的锂相平衡,所以可以降低容量永久性损伤的可能性,即该激励方法不会明显影响动力电池的使用寿命。

低温交流加热过程中,动力电池的温升速率随激励电流幅值增大而升高。但是若激励电流过大,会造成动力电池端电压超过其最大允许阈值,进而影响动力电池的使用寿命。在限定激励电流幅值的前提下,随着交流激励频率的提高,电化学反应周期变短,温升速率也会提高。动力电池在整个交流激励的过程中不会有析锂的积累。因此,应用交流激励对动力电池加热时,激励电流幅值和激励频率的取值不应仅关注其对温升速率的影响,还需兼顾动力电池安全性能和健康状态。基于此提出了一种定频率自适应梯度加热方法。

该方法是在保证动力电池使用寿命和操作安全的前提下,尽量减小供能系统能量损耗并缩短加热时间。该方法根据传感器获取当前动力电池的温度、端电压及环境温度等数据信息,及时计算和更新交流激励电流幅值并施加给动力电池,使激励电流处于动力电池允许的承载电流范围内,以确保动力电池的端电压不超限,提高动力电池低温工作性能,保障动力电池的可靠运行。

4. 数学方程

交流激励时,产热率q的计算公式为

(1)

该式中,i为激励电流幅值,为实部阻抗(与温度有关,可由EIS离线获取)。根据B-V方程,联立极化电流的数学表达式以及极化电压表达式。

(2)
(3)

经过离散化得到许用激励电流上下幅值

(4)

(5)

最优激励电流幅值

(6)

需要说明的是,由参数辨识方法得到。针对电池不同的外部环境温度,便可以依据以上公式对激励电流的幅值进行及时更新,图3为每隔2°C计算更新一次激励电流幅值加热实验中的激励电流幅值曲线图

图3 动力电池单体激励电流值

其加热流程如图4所示

图4 自适应梯度加热流程图

5. 主要结果

利用上述的加热实验方案,对四串动力电池组进行自适应梯度加热。图5结果表明:自适应梯度加热方法在12.4min内将四串动力电池组从-20.3°C加热到10.02°C,温升速率为2.47°C/min,可以实现较为理想的短时高效的温升效果,且四串动力电池组的温升一致性较好。

图5 4串动力电池组加热温升曲线

图6为动力电池经过40次自适应加热循环后充放电容量的变化。结果表明此自适应加热方法对动力电池寿命无明显影响,可以考虑作为动力电池在低温环境下应用的预热方法。

图6 循环加热后动力电池充放电容量

6. 参考文献

[1] 熊瑞. 动力电池管理系统核心算法[M]. 北京:机械工业出版社,2021. 第八章)

[2] 熊瑞*, 王侃, 郭姗姗. 锂离子动力电池低温复合加热方法[J]. 机械工程学报, 2019, 55(14): 53-59. (下载链接)

[3] R. Xiong, W. Sun, Q. Yu* and F. Sun, “Research progress, challenges and prospects of fault diagnosis on battery system of electric vehicles”, Applied Energy, vol. 279, pp.115855, Dec 2020. (下载链接)

[4] R. Xiong*, Y. Pan, W.X. Shen, H. Li and F. C. Sun, “Lithium-ion battery aging mechanisms and diagnosis method for automotive applications: Recent advances and perspectives”, Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews, vol. 131, pp. 110048, Oct 2020. (下载链接)

[5] R. Xiong*, S. Ma, H. Li, F. Sun and J.Li, “Towards a Safer Battery Management System: A Critical Review on Diagnosis and Prognosis of Battery Short Circuit”, iScience, vol. 23, no. 4, pp. 101010, Apr 2020. (下载链接)

7. 可用资源

(1) 低温极快速加热资料: 点击下载(低温加热)

(2) 交流加热模型实例:资源申请表.pdf

(3) 授课讲稿: 资源申请表.pdf

0
联系地址:北京市海淀区中关村南大街5号北京理工大学   Copyright  ©  2020-   先进储能科学与应用课题组  All Rights Reserved.网站地图
友情链接: 北京理工大学    ICEIV2022会议    机械与车辆学院    机械工程学报    Applied Energy期刊